Skip to content

Vern Rutsala Announced NBA Poetry Finalists

October 18, 2011

Vern Rutsala, author of the Ashland Poetry Press book The Moment’s Equation and finalist for the National Book Awards in Poetry, announced the 2011 National Book Award Finalists in Poetry on Oregon Public Radio.  The following is from the National Book Awards website:

2011 National Book Award Finalists Announced on Oregon Public Radio

Silver Finalist Medal The twenty Finalists for the 2011 National Book Awards were announced on Oregon Public Broadcasting’s morning radio program, Think Out Loud, in front of a live audience at the new Literary Arts Center in Portland, Oregon on Wednesday, October 12. The announcement was also streamed live on Oregon Public Broadcasting’s website, Past NBA Winners, Finalists, and Judges announced this year’s Finalists by category:

  • Virginia Euwer Wolff, National Book Award Winner in 2001, will announce the Young People’s Literature Finalists.
  • Vern Rutsala, National Book Award Finalist in 2005, will announce the Poetry Finalists.
  • Sallie Tisdale, National Book Award Judge in 2010, will announce the Nonfiction Finalists.
  • Charles Johnson, National Book Award Winner in 1990 and Judge in 1999 and 2009, will announce the Fiction Finalists.Oregon Public Broadcasting

Think Out Loud host David Miller interviewed each of the four guests, as well as National Book Foundation Executive Director Harold Augenbraum, about their own National Book Award experiences.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: