Skip to content

Off-Site Reading by APP Poets at AWP 2012

October 26, 2011

Recently published poets from the Ashland Poetry Press will present a reading at Columbia College Chicago during the AWP Conference Friday, March 2, 2012 from 3-5 p.m. The reading will take place at The Court, located at 731 S. Plymouth Court, about two blocks west of the AWP Conference hotels.  Readers will include Richard Jackson, author of APP-published books Resonance and Unauthorized Autobiography, as well as recent winners of the Richard Snyder Publication Prize: Mary Makofske, Jason Schneiderman, Marc J. Sheehan, Helen Pruitt Wallace, and Lorna Knowles Blake.

Richard Jackson is the author of ten books of poems including Resonance (Ashland Poetry Press, 2010) (winner of the Eric Hoffer Award in poetry), Half Lives: Petrarchan Poems (2004) and Unauthorized Autobiography: New and Selected Poems (Ashland Poetry Press, 2003). He has also published two books of translations, Last Voyage: The Poems of Giovanni Pascoli from Italian (2010) and Alexandar Persolja’s Journey of the Sun from Slovene (2008). He is also the author of two crucial books, Acts of Mind: Conversations with American Poets (Choice Award) and Dismantling Time in Contemporary Poetry (Agee Award Winner), and has edited two anthologies of Slovene poetry, as well as the journal Poetry Miscellany.

Lorna Knowles Blake is the author of Permanent Address (Ashland Poetry Press, 2008). Her poems have appeared in Barrow Street, The Bell­ingham Review, Crab Orchard Review, The Hudson Review and other journals, as well as in several anthologies.

Mary Makofske is the author of Traction (Ashland Poetry Press, 2011), The Disappearance of Gargoyles (Thorntree Press, 1988) and Eating Nasturtiums (1998), winner of a Flume Press chapbook competition. Her poems have appeared in Poetry, Mississippi Review, Poetry East, ZONE 3, American Poetry Review, Natural Bridge, Calyx, Louisville Review, and other journals and anthologies.

Helen Pruitt Wallace is the author of Shimming the Glass House (Ashland Poetry Press, 2008), which won a Bronze Award in Poetry in the Florida Book Awards. Wallace has published poems in The Literary Review, The Midwest Quarterly, Cumberland Review, Nimrod International, Tampa Review, and other journals and anthologies, and served as co-editor of the anthology Isle of Flowers published by Anhinga Press.

Jason Schneiderman is the author of Striking Surface (Ashland Poetry Press, 2010) (finalist for the 2011 Eric Hoffer Award), and Sublimation Point, a Stahlecker Selection from Four Way Books. His poetry and essays have appeared in numerous journals and anthologies, including American Poetry Review, Harvard Review, The Best American Poetry, Grand Street, The Penguin Book of the Sonnet, Story Quarterly, and Tin House among other places.

Marc J. Sheehan is the author of Vengeful Hymns (Ashland Poetry Press, 2009), which was the runner-up for the Society of Midland Authors book of the year in poetry, and Greatest Hits (New Issues Press, 1998). His poems have appeared in anthologies from Fine Madness, Passages North, and Milkweed Editions, among others.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: