Skip to content

Book Contest Guidelines

The Richard Snyder Memorial Publication Prize

This poetry book series honors the memory of Richard Snyder (1925-1986), poet, fiction writer, playwright, and long-time professor of English at Ashland University. He served for fifteen years as English department chair, and in 1969 co-founded and served as co-editor of the Ashland Poetry Press. He was also co-founder of the creative writing major at Ashland University, one of the first at the undergraduate level in the country. In selecting manuscripts for this series, Ashland Poetry Press editors keep in mind Snyder’s tenacious dedication to craftsmanship and thematic integrity.

Submissions to the Snyder Prize are screened by Deborah Fleming, Editor.  The 2012 Snyder Prize judge is Elizabeth Spires.

The Winner of the Snyder Prize Receives:

  • $1,000.00
  • publication of winning manuscript in a paperback edition of 1,000 copies
  • 50 copies of the published book (in lieu of royalties)

Former Snyder Prize Winners (links currently direct the browser to the old APP site):

The 2003 Snyder winner, The Moment’s Equation by Vern Rutsala (published in December 2004), was a finalist for the 2005 National Book Award. 

The 2004 Snyder winner, Remorseless Loyalty by Christine Gelineau, was nominated by David St. John for the 2006 Los Angeles Times Book Prize in Poetry. 

The 2007 winner, Shimming the Glass House by Helen Pruitt Wallace, won the Bronze medal in the 2008 Florida Book Awards Poetry category.

The 2008 winner, Vengeful Hymns by Marc J. Sheehan, was the finalist for the Society of Midland Authors Poetry Competition.

2012 Submission Guidelines:

  • Book-length poetry manuscripts
  • Original collection of poems of 50 to 80 pages, with no more than one poem per page, single sided
  • Single spaced
  • Bound by a single clip: No Folders or Notebooks, Please
  • Two title pages: one with name, address, and phone number and one with title only
  • Manuscripts may be submitted electronically, through Submittable, for $27 (to cover credit card fees)
  • $25 reading fee made payable to The Ashland Poetry Press
  • Deadline: April 30, 2012
  • Translations are not eligible
  • Ashland University employees and their spouses are not eligible
  • Mail one hard copy to:

Mail to:

The Richard Snyder Publication Prize
The Ashland Poetry Press
Ashland University
Ashland, OH 44805

For notification, enclose a letter-sized self-addressed, stamped envelope.  All manuscripts other than the winning one will be recycled.

Look for our announcement in an upcoming issue of The Writers’ Chronicle (AWP) and Poets & Writers.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: